Chicken · Pasta

Chicken-Chili Mac’n’Cheese

So this was dinner tonight. It is perfect for super cold nights without being super long to cook, like a lot of soups can be. It’s a mix of chili pasta as well, so it melds to two best comfort foods in the world, I mean come on!

Chicken-Chili Mac N Cheese

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 onion, diced (Optional, I used onion powder)
  • 4 Chicken breasts
  • 5 cups chicken broth
  • 1 (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 1 Can white kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3 teaspoons chili powder – additional to season chicken
  • Red pepper (ground or flakes) to season chicken, to taste
  • 1 ¾ teaspoon cumin
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 10 ounces elbows pasta
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese (Rough estimate, I usually do two fistfuls)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. In one pan boil water and cook noodles until just before aldente. In another, add garlic, chili seasoning just for chicken not the full amount, red pepper and onion (or equivalent) and chicken, and cook until thoroughly cooked.
  2. In the noodle pot, stir in chicken broth, tomatoes, beans, chili powder and cumin; season with salt and pepper, to taste. Stir in noodles and bring to a simmer, add cheese and chicken. Cook for five minutes.
  3. Remove from heat. Top with additional cheese if desired.
  4. Serve immediately and salivate!

Warm Winter Nights – In My Belly!

I actually discovered this recipe, but the original version used ground beef and is also fantastic. Essentially everything else about it is the same.

IMG_20161107_120816126.jpg
And yes that’s cast iron bread sticking out of that bowl!

It’s beautiful. But tonight, I had no ground beef, just chicken. So I figured, why not just switch things around a bit?

So I cooked the chicken in a pan with some chili powder, onion powder, salt, pepper and ground red pepper for some bite (my boyfriend’s taste).

Boiled my noodles until done, drained and then poured all the other ingredients in the now-empty pasta pot. I ended up adding more chicken broth and chili powder than in the beef version of this recipe, but with chicken it needed it.

Stir away! I bring my stuff to a simmer.

img_20161120_191530574

 

And then add the cheese until it looks like this….

img_20161120_192546954

And serve. It was PERFECTION. So good I would have had a second bowl if I didn’t have a sweet bread in the oven right now….but more on that in another post. 😉

Leave a Reply

