Fish · Healthy Food · Pasta

Parmesan Tilapia in Cream Sauce with Angel Hair Pasta

Tonight I was in the mood for fish – and tired of chicken – and so I defrosted a pack of tilapia I bought fresh from a local Price Cutter and froze about a month ago. Then I got to thinking – what goes best with white fish? White sauce and noodles!

So I whipped up this little recipe on the fly. Hope everyone enjoys!

Tilapia in Cream Sauce and Noodles

Ingredients

For Sauce

1 ½ Tbs parmesan

1 cup chicken broth (Or in a pinch, a cube of chicken bullion and cup of boiled water)

1 cup heavy whipping cream

2 tbs flour

2 ½ tbs butter

1 tbs lemon juice

Dill to taste

For Tilapia

Salt and pepper to taste

Dash of Parmesan on each piece

1 Tsp lemon juice (Roughly)

Other:

Angel Hair Noodles

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Season tilapia with salt, pepper, Parmesan and lemon juice. (Some come pre-seasoned, so be careful! Place them in the oven as soon as it’s ready – don’t start the other bits until you have done this, as the cook time for the Tilapia is about 30 min, which is how long the rest of it takes.
  2. Get water boiling for the noodles. About halfway through making your sauce, add them in. Angel Hair is quick to cook so if you want to time it all out be mindful of this.
  3. In a saucepan, melt butter into flour, season with dill and stir until flour and butter have created a sort of dough (pictures below) we’re creating our roux. Then whisk in chicken broth until completely combined.
  4. Whisk in heavy cream and Parmesan. After combined, add in lemon juice.
  5. Drain finished noodles and place on a plate, spoon finished sauce over them.
  6. Take Tilapia out of the oven. Put on the nest of noodles and spoon additional sauce to taste on top of it.
  7. Allow to cool and enjoy!

All told the whole affair only takes 30 minutes and you can customize it to your serving size, one portion of noodles for portion of fish! The sauce as it is makes enough for about 3-4 portions.

Quick Fish Dinner!

So I have a confession – despite the weather, I have yet to turn on my heater. My house is a balmy 65 at the moment, which sounds a touch ridiculous but before you judge me know this – I love the cold, and have mountains of blankets, so no one in the house (Me and my man) suffer and two, in the event of company, I would of COURSE turn up the heat. However, in the name of economy, I loooove running my oven whenever I can to heat up the house and make something yummy at the same time!

Tonight I got to do just that!

 

Here’st he beginning of the Roux, it probably could have done with a dash more flour but given I was busy dealing with a Chicken Broth emergency I only notice that now.

 

 

So tonight I’m all jazzed up about my dish, I think I’ve thought of everything – and then I pull out my chicken broth – and see the date I’ve put on it in sharpie (A trick my boyfriend insisted upon after me forcing him to smell the chicken broth several times when it was past the seven days I’m comfortable using it after opening it). It was 8 days since I opened the thing. I took a cautious sniff – and was NOT confident in risking my stomach or my sauce. So down the sink it went, and I was scrambling. I knew I had a jar of chicken bullion cubes somewhere, for just such occasions, and luckily managed to get one in a cup of boiling water in time to create a chicken broth substitute to whisk in to my Roux.

That was the only excitement of the whole process. I added the cream, the lemon juice, and the rest just fell into place, turning into this lovely darling here.

Now I’m nice and full, nice and warm, and craving nothing except the roast I bought to cook tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

