English/Irish Food · Saturday

Cottage Pie!

Mmmmm, this is one of my favorite dishes, and one of the first adventurous things I did when I moved out. I’ll be honest, I fell in love with English food due to two things, my Irish heritage and my frequency of pubs, where I live there are only a couple places to go out and get said cuisine, so I took to the internet to find some recipes of my own!

So here it is, my favorite version of Cottage Pie, enjoy it!

Cottage Pie

Ingredients

For Beef

3 Dashes of Rosemary

1 tsp Thyme

2 tsp Oregano

1 tsp Onion Powder (You can substitute half an onion or so)

2 tsp Minced Garlic

2 Tbs Tomato Paste

Salt and Pepper to taste

1 Tbs Worcestershire Sauce**

1 1/2 cup Beef Broth

1 cup Peas

2 Carrots (grated)

3 lbs Ground beef

For Mashed Potatoes

5 Medium Potatoes

4 Tbs Milk

Salt and pepper to taste

2 Tbs Butter

**Okay I don’t measure when I add in Mr. Worty here, I dash it in and smell it until it smells – and don’t make fun of me here, English enough. There is something inherently British smelling about this dish and it will smell JUST RIGHT at the correct spice level.

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven 375.
  2. Get ground beef on the burner on medium heat, season only with salt.
  3. Peel and slice potatoes. Get water on to boil and add in add in potatoes. Cook for 15 minutes.
  4. Drain browned beef of all oil and then put back in pan. Add in spices, broth, tomato paste,grated carrots and peas. Beef Broth should be visible beneath the beef but not cover it, get to a simmer and cover for 15 min.
  5. Drain potatoes and then put into large mixing bowl (I used my own boiling pot, it works well) and add in butter, milk, salt and pepper. Using hand mixer blend until smooth. Set aside.
  6. When beef is finished, spoon into bake-safe dish, I prefer glass deep dish, myself. Then layer the mashed potatoes on top.
  7. Bake until potatoes brown along the edges and slightly along the top.
  8. Cool for five minutes, then enjoy!

 

My favorite things to experiment with on this recipe: I like to add chopped carrots, and sometimes a touch of corn. Of course as I mentioned in the ingredients list you can add in onions instead of onion powder. I want to try this recipe with beef tips instead of ground beef at some point, but if I ever did that I would add in a touch more beef broth and maybe thicken it up with corn starch or a roux.

Anyway, those are my thoughts on this recipe. I’ve got a nice little picture of it, but I’m having a fight with my phone right now so not as many in-progress pictures as normal. My apologies!

May your kitchens be warm my friends!

 

Leave a Reply

