Bread · Norwegian · Sweets

Skolebrød

So I think I’ve mentioned this before, my boyfriend is Viking spawn. Now and again I do a regional night or week of cooking, and all the recipes will be from our ancestral lands so Norwegian for him, Irish/German for me.Or I’ll pick somewhere completely new to change it up, just move away from my everyday menu and flavor profile.

This recipe came out of one of those weeks! I found it online when I was searching for other things to cook for dinner – and OH MY GOD GUYS. This recipe is labor intensive. I took a while before I tried it. But it is so worth the work. You will feel so accomplished at the end of the day when you look at your 20 perfect Skolebrød ! 190 calories a piece*, too, they don’t make for a break-the-bank snack.

Skolebrød

Makes 20 Buns – 190 C./ Bun –

For buns:

  • 1 stick (8 Tbs.) melted butter
  • 3 cups warm whole milk
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. yeast
  • 2 tsp. ground cardamom
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 6 cups flour, plus more for kneading
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten, for egg wash

For custard filling:

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 egg
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 Tbs. cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 Tbs. granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

For icing:

  • powdered sugar glaze (1 Tbs. milk + 1 tsp. vanilla extract blended with powdered sugar until it reaches icing consistency – about a cup)

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, mix together the 3 cups warm milk, the melted butter, and the 1 cup sugar whisk in yeast and let set for 5-10 minutes until it rises.  Then, stir in the cardamom and salt.
  2. Stir in the flour bit by bit until you have a stiff, but still fairly sticky dough.  Then turn it out and knead on a floured surface for about 5 minutes.  You need to keep your dough sticky, but workable, luck be with those who have a standing mixer, but for those of us doing this by hand, our hands shalt be encased in dough and we shalt LOVE IT!
  3.  Place the dough in a lightly greased bowl, cover with a kitchen towel and put in a warm place to rise until doubled in size, about 1 hour. Fun fact, I have always placed my doughs on top of my fridge, never thought twice about it, until I remembered it was where my grandmother kept them, because of all the kids and animals running around her kitchen. I just thought it was where people were supposed to place them.
  4. In the meantime, make the custard filling.  In a small bowl, whisk together the egg, egg yolks, cornstarch and sugar.  Combine the 1 cup milk and 1 cup heavy cream in a saucepan, and bring just to a simmer.  Add about 1/4 cup of the hot liquid to the bowl with the egg yolk mixture, whisking well as you pour to keep the egg from curdling.  Repeat, adding another 1/4 cup.
  5. Then, pour the egg mixture back into the saucepan with the milk and cream, and cook over a medium-low temperature, stirring constantly, until it thickens to almost a pudding texture.  Remove from the heat, stir in the vanilla extract, and set aside to cool. (Don’t be afraid of this step, I thought I fucked it the first time I made the custard because my stuff boiled instead of simmered – I was distracted, cleaning – and I thought they curdled, but things turned out okay. It’s more forgiving than it sounds. You can do it!)
  6. When the dough has risen, punch it down, (Great time to take out that anger of the day, Fuck you person you cut in front of me at the pharmacy!) and turn it out onto a lightly floured surface.  Divide it into 20 equal pieces.  I recommend dividing it in half first, and then half again and so on and so forth. I do this by hand, some people have great knives that make this easier. Good luck. the more even they are the better the cooking process will be!
  7. Gently form each piece into a ball, then flatten it slightly into a thick disk. Use your fingers to make a big dimple in the center of each, then place them on the baking sheets.  Cover with towels and allow to rise for another 30 minutes.
  8. Preheat your oven to 350F.  Before you add custard, you may need to re-dimple the dough, as it’s risen since the first dimple, that’s normal. some buns take it better than others. Afterward, put a spoonful of the custard into the center of each of the buns.  Then, brush around the edges of each bun with the egg wash.
  9. Bake them one sheet at a time until golden brown, mine took around 17 minutes per batch.  Remove to cooling racks and allow them to cool completely.
  10. While the buns are cooling, make the icing, (I waited until mine were already partly done that way my icing didn’t set) and rub a little icing onto a bun, avoiding the custard center.  Repeat with the remaining buns, making more glaze as needed and when you’re completely done set on a rack/plate to dry.
  11. Special side note- Reheat these when you eat them, do NOT stack when you store them, and don’t use foil, they will be sticky! They stay good for about a week or so depending on temps in your storage space.
img_20161112_181238470
And here you have it – perfection in a pastry!

*Calorie counts come from MyFitnessPal App. And their associated website!

My Adventures in Skolbrod!

I spent an entire day with these lovely buns. We watched several episodes of The Office and cleaned my kitchen several times to make it livable and laundry won’t wait. My younger cat – the one I bottle-fed and who is a bit of a mama’s boy – felt very neglected.

But I was invested. There are a lot of really cool Norwegian recipes that I’m going to post but this was the one I wanted to try first, as far as the sweets are concerned, and I was really concerned that I would mess up. There was plenty of room for error.

Here we have my original set up as I started the process, I am a very organized baker, which is the polar opposite to how I do most anything else. I have everything portioned out before I use it and like to run through the recipe several times so that I am confident in each step. I’m fuck stupid anal. You would be amazing but I actually cook well with others.

The moment someone else enters my kitchen I let go of control and just accept the fact that I can’t do things my way. My little nephew came over recently and we did the whole, cooking on a chair thing, he’s fucking adorbs! I taught him to whisk, he holds the bowl in one hand and everything, he’s not even three. He’s amazing at it!

img_20161112_151105131

So here is where I thought I made my serious fuck up. I totally thought I curdled the custard – which sounds like Victorian swearing, omg, I love it – I was busy working on the dishes that had piled up and suddenly I glance back at it and BAM it was boiling. FUCK! I jump over and turn it off in a panic. I thought, damn, this is it, I only had enough heavy cream for the one batch – which is NEVER a good idea when you’re making something the first time, but whatever, I was being foolish – and then, luckily enough, when it finished, it was fine!

By the by, is it just me, or does custard not smell awesome at first when you’re cooking it?I’ve made it on a couple occasions now, and there is a stage where it does NOT smell fantastic. I’m always worried that I fucked it, but I taste it and both times it turned out just fine. Sooo, I don’t know.

I will say I gave a lot of these buns away, and it was not for lack of loving them myself, it was more because I didn’t need to eat 20 buns in 7 days. Jesus Christ that would have been horrible. I mean, amazing, but horrible, you know what I mean.

I bundled them up in Tupperware, anything with structure so that the tops that are sticky don’t get disturbed, and avoided stacking them where I could, to preserve them as best I could. I learned the hard way not to put foil on them – after a while the glaze mixes with the foil and it bleeds off onto the bun, BLECK. It would have been nice to have some sort of disposable something to store the ones I was giving away.

Last but not least, I’ve said it once, I’ll say it again, reheat these 12-15 seconds at most, before eating! This takes it from good to sublime!

May your kitchens stay warm my friends!

 

 

Leave a Reply

