Sweets

Peach-capades

In search of the perfect peach filling…

I have embarked upon this new weekend with the desire of taking back my kitchen. My first project, I decided, was to get rid of the Pillsbury dough sheet in my fridge. Upon deciding this, and researching cupcake combos for my Sunday project, I saw something about peaches – and recalled that I have a large can sitting in my cupboard! Problem one solved, peach cobbler.

However, there is the next problem – I don’t know how to make peach cobbler, as I’ve never done it. I have made countless apple pies, cobblers, crumbles, and just regular old apple bakes. But while there is some crossover, I imagined, they are inherently different flavors. So I set about the internet to find out what others have done to create their cobbler recipes, and decided I would take things from each.

Wanting to give credit where credit is due, this is what I found:

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/19897/old-fashioned-peach-cobbler/

 

http://www.twotwentyone.net/when-given-peaches-make-peach-cobbler/

 

https://bunnyswarmoven.net/2015/08/double-crust-peach-cobbler http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2016/07/15/brown-sugar-peach-crumble-pie/

 

¼ c. Lemon Juice

¾ c. Orange juice

½ c. Butter

2 c. White sugar

½ tsp Ground Nutmeg

1 tsp Cinnamon

1 Tb Cornstarch

2 c. fresh peaches, peeled and sliced

1/4 – 1/2 c. sugar, depending on sweetness of peaches

1/2 c. butter, softened

1 teas. vanilla

 

4 Tablespoons butter

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1/4 cup granulated sugar more for sprinkling on top

1 Tsp vanilla

1/2 Tsp cinnamon

zest of one lemon

1/2 cup water

10 ripe peaches peeled, pitted and sliced into 1/4 inch slices,

3 Tablespoons flour

2 Tablespoons cream for brushing top crust

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

 

1/2 cup (100g) packed light or dark brown sugar

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

3/4 cup (94g) all-purpose flour

1/3 (75g) cup unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled

optional: 1/2 cup (63g) chopped walnuts

 

 

After looking over these recipes, I decided that my ingredients for my filling would be a bit of all of them, I knew I wanted nuts, vanilla and cinnamon. Lemon was something I hadn’t considered so I decided I would put it in, after a moment’s thought as to how nice it would offset the amount of sugar and syrup in the recipe. Nutmeg was a novel idea, I plan on adding it to only a few of my mini cobblers, just to see how much of a difference it makes. I also decided I wanted to puree the peaches and also have slices added in too, to give the filling a nice texture.

With this decided, my next task was to figure out how I am going to handle my crust. It is being made from the pre-made Pillsbury crescent sheet, so I don’t know how thick it will be, I may need to roll it out to get the desired thickness.

I also have to decide if I’m going to make true cobbler and put some sort of top on the minis, or if I plan to go more tartlet and have it with an open top. It’s going to depend, in the end, on how much of the crust is left. I would prefer to have a lattice, if at all possible.

Peach Cobbler-Pie-Tartlet-Crumble


So, about the name – when I started baking about an hour or so ago, I wasn’t certain what I was going to have the dough to make two mini cobblers. I turned out I didn’t, so it was lucky I hedged my expectations.

Ingredients:

1-2 Tbsp flour

1 large can of peaches – don’t drain.

½ tsp vanilla

1/3 c brown sugar

1/3 c white sugar

½ Tbsp cinnamon

Dash of nutmeg

Dash of salt

½ c chopped pecans

1 can crescent dough – 2 if you want full cobblers-

Instructions:

Spoon about 1/3 of the peaches into a food processor without the syrup. Blend until mushy, marmalade like in texture if you will. Then spoon all the rest of the ingredients into a saucepan and heat until boiling. 

At that point sprinkle the flour into the boiling filling and whisk it until it thickens.

Roll out the dough as much as you can without compromising it (holes). 


I turned my bowl over and gently pressed it into the dough, that way you know how much to cut out and press it into the base of the little bowls or pan. Cut strips of the dough off and lay them over the top of your pan, to create the lattice effect.


Bake for about 35-40 minutes.

For the crumble, only bake about 25-30 minutes. I created it with some cereal and brown sugar sprinkled over the excess filling.

 

2 thoughts on “Peach-capades

Leave a Reply

