Beef · Chinese Food · Crock Pot

Chinese Crock Pot Meal – Beef

So I have been eating out way too much, and the biggest reason is that my family has a tradition of eating Chinese food when it’s raining. I don’t know why, but my grandmother started it and now I’m Pavloved.

Now you may have been aware that the Midwest was subjected to severe flooding this past week and my area was not immune, it rained almost constantly for about two days, and while I was very lucky to live on a plateau and on the second floor of an apartment complex, I found myself craving Chinese food for several days. Not wanting to go out and brave the rains unless necessary – my city has certain areas that were totally inaccessible when it so much as sprinkles, let alone this torrent – I decided to make it myself.

Here’s the dish I came up with, it is a bit of a cross between beef and broccoli and pepper steak. It is amazing with noodles and rice, but I recommend thickening the sauce if you do the noodles, I didn’t and it was a mistake. ☹ My favorite thing about this dish was that it was a crock pot meal, so very little work is required!

Ingredients

2-3lb Roast – I recommend trimming the fat off.

1 head of broccoli

½ Red pepper

½ Green pepper

2 Cubes of beef bullion

2 c. water

1 ½ Tbsp minced garlic

¼ tsp ground mustard

Dash of onion powder

Dash of ground ginger

2/3 c. Brown sugar

1/3 c. Teriyaki sauce

1/3 c. Soy sauce

Instructions

This is a dump and cook meal, really, it cooks for 6-8 hours, really your choice, depending on how much meat you may have and such. The only thing I do suggest is a specific order for the ingredients when you put them in the crock-pot.

I always start by putting the meat in with the bullion and water first, then spices, then brown sugar and peppers and then soy sauce and teriyaki. Also don’t add the broccoli in right away unless you want it super soft. I recommend adding it about 30 minutes before serving if you like it crunchy.

There’s really nothing to it, serve it with rice or noodles, and if you want to thicken it without cornstarch you can always create a quick roux (2Tbsp butter, flour mixed until they create a solid structure) ladle in the sauce and heat to a boil, whisking it until thickened.

Asian Slow Cooker
This is the only picture I took, it’s before I actually finished cooking it. 
Leave a Reply

