Chicken · Crock Pot

Lemon Pepper Chicken in the Crockpot

The other day I was at the store and I was searching for some sort of healthy meat, and since I had already made something with beef this week I was sort of leaning toward chicken. I ended up finding a cage-free frying chicken. It was from a company we’ve bought from before, they are all organic, no antibiotics sort of outfit, and while I adore that – it’s fucking expensive.

This little frying chicken, however, was very reasonably priced, so I snagged it up. Then I had to figure out what I wanted to do with it – it was still raining at the time so I was almost going to do a second wave of Chinese food – however I had also purchased a dressing that I wanted to use on noodles, and as it’s four-cheese and basil, I didn’t assume it would go together well.

That decision prompted me to rock a new recipe, using the left over peppers from my beef-broccoli-pepper Chinese food earlier this week!

Ingredients

1 frying chicken (I think it was a couple pounds, but I honestly didn’t check)

Salt and pepper to taste

1 Tbsp garlic

1/3 c. lemon juice

¼ c. Teriyaki marinade

Couple dashes of Teriyaki sauce

2 Chicken bullion cubes

2 c. Water

1/3 c. Brown sugar

½ Red pepper

½ Green pepper

Instructions

This is a dump and forget about it recipe, cook it for 6-7 hours in the crock pot. As far as adding the ingredients, always add the meat first, then vegetables, spices and then liquids. The only exception I make is the water and bullion cubes, I add those together right after the meat.

For this recipe I’m going to be making a noodle side-dish. I’ll post the recipe for that today too!

Teriyaki Chicken Lemon2

Leave a Reply

