Beef · Soup

Beefy White-Bean Soup

So when you guys read this recipe you’re going to think that, what the fuck? Half of these are things you don’t even like! However, my boyfriend and I were sitting around, talking about shopping for groceries, and I asked if there was anything he wanted, he mentioned Spaghetti and soup – I already had both on my list, which made me laugh.

But I wanted to make sure I made a beef soup, because I try to have red meat a couple times a week if we can afford it, and at least once a week if not.  I sniffed around for a recipe, nothing quite fit, so I decided to merge a couple together – a fairly common occurrence in these posts.

I merged a recipe for tortellini soup and my previously posted macaroni chili, which is where all these ingredients were inspired by. In my tortellini soup that I make, I find myself unusually able to eat vegetables that I cannot stomach otherwise, so I decided that I would give it a try in a different soup style.

Beefy White Bean Soup

Ingredients

2lb Roast

2 ½ Tomatoes

3 Large carrots

2 Cans white beans

3 c beef broth + 1 c for marinade

3 Tbps butter

½ c flour

1 c heavy cream

2 c red wine + 2-3 c for marinade.

1 tsp ground red pepper

2 tsp Basil

1 Tbsp onion powder

Salt and Pepper to taste

1 tsp Thyme

1 Tbsp minced garlic + ½ Tbsp for marinade

¼ c Worcestershire sauce for marinade

Directions

Cut up your roast and put it in a seal-able container, fill with red wine, Worcestershire, salt, pepper and garlic. Seal and shake now and again, ideally you awn this to marinate for an hour, I didn’t get a chance to do this, this time, (Because I like sleeping) but it still turns out great with even thirty minutes to soak.

Make your roux, I made too much when I did this off the cuff, so I’ve adjusted the recipe for you guys, haha, it was a bit too thick, and without a stock pot to cook in, this was troublesome. Season the roux and then add in your beef broth, tomatoes and carrots, whisk it to smooth-thickness.

At this point, while you wait for the soup-base to come to a boil, put your meat to cook, make sure it cooks at a low heat and covered to keep that tenderness.

Add in your beans, one the soup begins to boil. Then allow to boil gently for 20 minutes, add in your meat about ten minutes in, that way it doesn’t get too over cooked. When you’re adding the meat in, make sure you don’t add all the marinade, but only a little, I spooned it in about 2-4 tablespoons, but I also had a minor pepper incident, sooo, you might not need it all.

When it’s done cooking let it cool for a while, it’s crazy hot, my boyfriend burns his mouth every time – but it is fucking tasty.

 

Leave a Reply

