Beef · Chicken · Crock Pot

Beef Tips – Slow Cooker (Or Chicken)

So this was the recipe I decided to make for my dinner with my friend earlier this week. It’s a favorite of hers, I’ve made it for her and her son (my amazing nephew) on several occasions, even when he was in his ‘picky’ stage, he adored it. It’s amazing and great with rice or noodles, and it can be done with chicken if you are super broke, which, as we all know, is befitting me and my budget often enough.

In the recipe, there is red wine, but let me tell you, there is 2$ red at Walmart, it keeps amazing since you’re not drinking it. I mean if you want to drink it, no judgement, but I only ever have cooked with it, so I can’t verify the quality.

Anywho, this is a make it and leave it recipe, best if you cook it at least 6-7 hours, and lean meat.

Ingredients

1.5-2lb roast, cut to pieces, trimmed of fat.

1 large can of cream of mushroom

1-1.5 c red wine

1 pkt brown gravy

1 pkt Stroganoff mix

Salt and pepper to taste

Roughly 1 tsp red pepper

Dash of ground mustard

2 c Beef Stock (Or 2 cubes beef bullion and water)

1 tbsp minced garlic

Instructions

Cut your meat, make sure to trim the fat unless you like the pieces chewy (Or like me, enjoy the extra flavor, I’m weird, maybe you are too). I usually cut them into squares of about the size of quarters.

Add in the beef broth, spices, red wine and then mushroom gravy.

Then turn your crock pot on low and let it cook for about 7 hours. Serve over rice or noodles, I think it’s better over some simple fast-cook instant rice sort of thing, maybe sauteed with some garlic and butter. The noodles are still great, don’t get me wrong, but if you’re working on portion size, rice is easier.

Leave a Reply

