Pasta · Soup · Turkey

Turkey Meatballs in White Wine-Thyme Soup

So today I decided I was going to make something with my a container of ground turkey I had had sitting in my freezer for a while. The rest of the recipe just sort of came about as I poked through my fridge.

Today work was fucking insane. I got home and I had sweat so much I had to take an immediate shower. I wanted to cook something that would give me the time to nap in my Papasan chair (Thank you Pier 1) and still be ready around the time my viking came home.

My kitchen was sparkling clean, so that was awesome. It would have been more awesome if I hadn’t cleaned it last night at 11pm after fighting with our clogged sink for over an hour. Adult relationships are weird – it was a bizarrely adorable bonding moment for us, as he plunged our left hand sink while I pinned the stopper down in the right hand one.  (We live in an apartment, and we think it was the doing of one of the other tenants, a thought which we conspired over together while avoiding spurts of gunk from the drain).

I fell into bed after a much needed shower last night and didn’t get enough sleep, only to have one of the most hectic days at work so far (I had two sodas, and i don’t mean a 20oz bottle, like two 44oz, it was horrible).

So when i cooked up this recipe I wanted simplicity with a touch of comfort food. It has a touch of English flavor, what with the thyme and the Worcestershire sauce, and I found it incredibly flavorful and warm. I hope you enjoy.

Turkey Meatballs in White-Wine Sauce

 Servings – 8          479 cal/serving

Ingredients

          For Meatballs

1 lb ground turkey (16 oz)

¾ c Italian bread crumbs

1 egg

Salt and pepper to taste

Dash of thyme

          For Soup

4 tbsp butter

¼ c flour

1 tsp Worcestershire

1/3 c white wine

48 oz chicken broth

1 c heavy cream

1 can pinto beans

2 c spiral noodles

1 tsp thyme

Salt to taste

1 Tbsp minced garlic

2 dashes of dill

Instructions

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F (204 C)

Melt butter, add flour to make your roux, add in your garlic and thyme. Whisk in chicken broth and set temp to high to allow it to come to a boil. Add in white wine, noodles and beans. Simmer covered for 15 minutes.

While the soup simmers, make your meatballs. Mix the egg, seasoning, bread crumbs, and meat in a bowl until fully combined. Form into 12 meat balls (at minimum, you could do tiny ones and make more, it’s up to you) and bake for 10 minutes on each side.

When your meatballs are finished, add them to the soup and serve!

Leave a Reply

