Cooking Thoughts

Cake Hack?

You may have seen that post in Pinterest that was talking about how to make boxed cake mix taste like from-scratch, professional cake. Here’s a snip of that post if you haven’t seen it.

Okay so I read this and was like, we’ll see. Can’t trust the internet, right?

Uh, this WORKS.

I made a date night cake back in April that I TRAGICALLY did not photograph. It was three tiers, almond filling with a chocolate hazelnut from scratch buttercream frosting. It was DELICIOUS. We both almost went into a coma eating it over the week, but it was worth it.

I grabbed a boxed cake mix last time I was at the store and I’m thinking it’s time to make another cake or cupcakes and get some photos this time! I’m thinking about doing a chocolate frosting with a fruity flavored cake. We shall see.

Leave a comment