Autumnal Recipes · Cooking Thoughts · Drinks

Cider Adventures | We made apple juice

We did it, we made apple cider….kinda. So I used too much water. What I have is more of an apple juice. A better apple juice, to be sure, but we missed that cider mark. I’ll put my recipe for very yummy apple juice down here for you all real quick, because it is great for those going lower sugar, we added no brown sugar to it at all, just some honey.

Apple Juice Recipe

  • 8 apples – I did a mix of red delicious and gala. Next time I want to add some granny smiths in there for a more unique flavor profile.
  • 112oz water – Which was too much for the number of apples when you’re going for cider. I panicked and thought I didn’t have enough.
  • 3 cinnamon sticks – I could have done another, but adding some ground cinnamon while the recipe is still hot made up for it.
  • 1 tsp cloves & Dash of nutmeg – I need to add more of these next time, for the amount of water used, even if I used the right amount, it wasn’t enough.

Ways to improve the outcome

Next time I will use either more apples or less water. I am planning on going the more apples route. I also thing that I will try a method of simmering that was mentioned in the Delish article, I think it’s the same one I linked in a previous post, but just in case, I’ve liked it again. They simmered for two hours and then mashed their apples and simmered again for another hour. I did two hours last night and I think having added a bit much water, going for another hour would have made a big difference, so I will try that next time!

The lack of oranges DID impact the flavor profile. As I sip my juice while writing this, I am saddened by the lack of bite this has. Now, I cannot peel or cut oranges without getting hives on my hands, so what I may have to do, is to look for a differnt citrus to add to get a comparable flavor, or option B, have my boyfriend work with the oranges.

Stirring them or working with them after they have been soaked with water will likely be fine, but that fresh orange spray is a no-go for me.

PS, if anyone knows why I am only allergic to fresh oranges, not orange juice, why that is a thing, I’d be glad to know. I found out by visiting Florida and we were staying near a grove of them I guess? My eyes legit looked like someone had punched me and my hands would swell up whenever I touched the oranges themselves that were freaking ever-present in the place we stayed.

I digress, but the main point of this is to say, my apple juice is delicious and looks beautiful in my new container I bought for it.

I will be attempting cider again when I get my next pay check. In the mean time, I will enjoy a low-sugar apple juice. In the mean time, I hope you all have a fantastic rest of your day.

Leave a comment