Cooking Thoughts

Cider Update

Okay, so I was prepping all my cider stuff this afternoon and a thought hit me – where am I going to store this stuff? I could make a super small batch, but given how long it needs to simmer, that’s not worth it.

So we are on hold, because I am going to HAVE to go to a store, breaking my rules and I feel so bad. I have like a tone of décor bottles that could work but they are décor, so they won’t store airtight even if they would look AMZING. Ah well, I will order some stuff from Amazon. We are on hold for the next three days or so depending on which ones I order, I will make a note on this post when I have chosen the bottles.


Update

Look how perfect she looks.

So I went ahead and purchased a pitcher. I am so excited! This is the container I got, it’s from Amazon because of course it was. I also got a mesh strainer so that I could get a finer, less-pulpy cider in the end.

Now the only question that remains is the inclusion of oranges. I am allergic to handling oranges, I’ve never understood why because I can drink orange juice and cider made with oranges, but actually prepping the oranges to put them into my own cider will cause my hands to break out in hives. I could always get gloves? So I am going to do some research on orange alternatives.

Not even 5 minutes later…

Okay so I did some research. Apparently lots of recipes don’t use oranges, I can’t like them all, I literally went through like twenty without reading anything other than the ingredients list. So yea, we just won’t add a citrus and see what happens.

Leave a comment